SHARE

Vegan; Vegetarian; Veggie; Guinness; Blog Post

Huge news in the vegan & vegetarian world as Guinness is now officially suitable for vegan consumption, this is fantastic news, especially for this writer as Guinness is probably the thing I really missed most since I became a proud vegan many moons ago.

Guiness 2

We should point out that for the time being Guinness served at the bar, that is directly from the barrel/pumps is vegan, bottles & cans at this very moment are still not suitable for vegan consumption, however they will be by the end of this year and as soon as they are we will let you know immediately.

Veggie Eye emailed the customer service team at Diageo and they replied…

 ‘Our new filtration process has removed the use of isinglass as a means of filtration and vegans can now enjoy a pint of Guinness.

‘All Guinness Draught in keg format is brewed without using isinglass. Full distribution of bottle and can formats will be in place by the end of 2017, so until then, our advice to vegans is to consume the product from the keg format only for now.’

Guiness 3

Guinness ‘on tap’ is now officially Vegan

This is truly wonderful news for the vegan consumer and hopefully it’ll have a huge knock on effect to the remaining brands/brewery’s who are still using animal derivatives within the manufacturing process.

As for this writer, after 20 years, this vegan is off for a pint of the ‘black stuff’ yay…

All good things come to those who wait

 

Veggie Eye

 

 

 

 

 

NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY